Your Soul is a River by Nikita Gill-review

Hello everybody! A little time ago, the people over at Thought Catalog  were kind enough to  send me a copy of Your Soul is a River by Nikita Gill to read and review so here´s my review of it.

If you think this book sounds interesting, you can buy it here.

Please note: all the thoughts in this review are entirely my own and is in no way affected of the fact that I got this book as a review copy.

Title: Your Soul is a River

Author: Nikita Gill

About the book: Your Soul is a River is a poetry book about the journey of healing from trauma and becoming whole again.

The book is divided into 8 parts: The cosmos, Fire, The storm, Ache, The sea, Wild, The earth and Heal.

My thoughts on the book: 

I´m not completely sure about how to review this book, it was such a special and beautiful poetry collection and i already now that some of the poems will stay with me for a long time. I loved the way Nikita Gill used words in her poems, and the way she used them to describe emotions.

This book is filled with beautiful metaphors and although they got a little bit repetitive after a while, I really loved some of them. And as often is the case with poetry, there were both poems that I really loved and poems that I didn´t felt a very big connection with.

But I think that what I loved the most about Your Soul is a River is that you feel like the book understands, it understands you and your emotions. I loved that.

Here are some of my favorite poems from the book: 

IMG_7504IMG_7503IMG_7502IMG_7508

IMG_7501IMG_7500

IMG_7506

 

And did I mention that the cover is beautiful too? It´s really gorgeous.

So yeah, although I don´t think this is a book for everyone, I personally really loved it and would really recommend it.

Rating: 5/5 stars ★★★★★

Do you enjoy reading poetry?

 

Leave a Reply

