Salt to the Sea review

“What had human beings become? Did war make us evil or just activate an evil already lurking within us?”
Ruta Sepetys, Salt to the Sea

I read Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys last week so I thought that I would share my thoughts about the book with you guys. Please not that this review is totally free from spoilers.

Title: Salt to the Sea

Author: Ruta Sepetys

Synopsis: Salt to the Sea is a book set in East Prussia during the last year of WW2 and is about four young people: Alfred, Emilia, Joana and Florian. They are all from different countries and they all had different backgrounds, but they all have one thing in common: each of them carries their own dark and well kept secret.

And what will happen when their paths cross? When the german ship Wilhelm Gustloff is their last hope.

Goodreads synopsis

My thoughts on the book: I really liked Salt to the Sea. I don´t read very much historical fiction (although I really want to read more of it) and the only book that I´ve read before that´s set during World War 2 before is The Book Thief and that´s one of my all time favorite books so my expectations was quite high. And although I din´t loved it as much as The Book Thief, I still really liked it.

The story the author tells is so important for the world to know about and it was very interesting to read about it.

The writing style was pretty simple but i still really liked it and I loved how it changed depending of who of the characters perspective it was. And I really liked the characters, they were all very different from each other but they still connected with each other. I really loved Joana and Florian and The Shoe Poet and the wandering boy were such lovable and unique characters. I really liked Emilia too although I didn´t felt a very strong connection to her. I didn´t liked Alfred at all as a person but I still really liked that he was a part of the book since I felt like he was a very good example of what Hitler Youth did to young people.

The only thing I didn´t really liked about it was that the chapters were very short, because although it made the book a very fast read, it also made it hard to really get to know the characters. The book switches between 4 different characters point of view and the chapters were only about 2 pages long (sometimes even shorter) so when you started to feel interested in a character (if you had the time to do it because some chapters were so short that you didn´t even had the time to get curious about what was happening) the chapter was already finished and it had changed to another characters point of view.

Rating: : ★★★★ 4/5 stars.

Have any of you guys read this book?

Leave a Reply

